IAU Symposium 379 "Dynamical Masses of Local Group Galaxies" (Potsdam, March 20-24)

IAU Symposium 379:

Dynamical Masses of Local Group Galaxies

Potsdam, March 20-24, 2023



We are pleased to announce the upcoming International Astronomical Union Symposium 379 “Dynamical Masses of Local Group Galaxies”. You can now pre-register here to receive future updates. Full registration and abstract submission is expected to open in late August.

Meeting information:

  • Dates: 20.-24. March 2023
  • Location: Potsdam Telegrafenberg, Germany
  • Mode: primarily in-person, but remote participation will be possible
  • Workshop fee: ~270 Euro
  • Registration opens: end of August 2022.


Conference Rationale

Amongst the most stringent limitations in astronomy and cosmology are the very large uncertainties on galaxy masses and sizes. Yet, this topic is undergoing a revolution due to increasing knowledge of 6D space-velocity data for galaxies in the Local Group. This is driven by Gaia and numerous accompanying surveys that provide an accurate Milky Way rotation curve, detailed orbits of the nearby dwarf galaxies, and first estimates of the motions of dwarf irregulars and in the M31 system. This IAU Symposium has a very focused goal: Determining the mass of galaxies from dwarfs to giant spirals. However, it addresses a very broad range of astronomical fields (from studies of variable stars for estimating distances to dynamical modeling), of wave-lengths to be investigated (from radio and optical for estimating the HI gas and stellar content and their motions, to X-rays for estimating the warm and hot ionized gas), and has major implications for a fundamental question (from the distribution and nature of dark matter to alternative models). Measuring galaxy masses at different scales in the Local Group impacts a broad range of astronomy, from stars, star clusters, to the Milky Way, distant galaxies, and Cosmology.


Scientific Organizing Committee (SOC):

  • Francois Hammer (chair; Observatoire de Paris, France)
  • Marcel Pawlowski (chair; AIP, Germany)
  • Beatriz Barbuy (IAG, Brazil)
  • Maria-Rosa Cioni (AIP, Germany)
  • Cuhua Du (UCAS, China)
  • Anna-Christina Eilers (MIT, United States)
  • Eva Grebel (University of Heidelberg, Germany)
  • Roger Ianjamasimanana (SARAO, South Africa)
  • Stacy McGaugh (CWRU, United States)
  • Angeles Perez Villegas (Instituto de Astronomia-UNAM, Mexico)
  • Justin Read (University of Surrey, United Kingdom)
  • Marina Rejkuba (ESO, Germany)


Local Organizing Committee (LOC):

  • Marcel Pawlowski (chair)
  • Maria-Rosa Cioni (chair)
  • Salvatore Taibi 
  • Pengfei Li
  • Kosuke Kanehisa 
  • Elena Sacchi 
  • Nikolay Kacharov 
  • Mariana Pouseiro Julio
  • Yongjun Jiao


Editors of Proceedings:

  • Piercarlo Bonifacio (Observatoire de Paris, France)
  • Maria-Rosa Cioni (AIP, Germany)
  • Francois Hammer (Observatoire de Paris, France)